top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRL3

Ask

I listen to a lot of inspirational content these days. Between podcasts, audiobooks, and YouTube videos, I rarely hear music. Whether I’m driving to the grocery store, working out, or just out on a walk with my kids, I’ve usually got something in my ear that pushes me to be better.

Recently, I heard a line from one of my favorite influencers. He was speaking in relation to the Bible. His message was simple and is referenced many times in the Bible (in various ways) and is used my many speakers across the world. “You have not, because you ask not.”

I remember the first time my coworker, Josh Houser, told me that I should start a blog. Back in 2018 I would occasionally talk to Josh about all of the ideas that I had in my head around making an impact. You see, “Thoughts of a normal guy” has been an idea for years. I used to think to myself, “I can’t be the only person who feels like this. I can’t be the only guy who faces these issues.” So I’d talk to Josh and tell him all of the things that I was going to accomplish with my positive messages and all of the people who would be impacted by them...but I’d only tell Josh. Josh would say things like, “man I think people would like to hear that” or “you should get that message out there.” He always encouraged me and even held me accountable by bringing up my lack of action constantly. And yet time passed and I did nothing.

So why did nothing happen? Why wouldn’t I act on the things that I so regularly talked about? “You have not, because you ask not.” This is so true in life and was exactly what was happening with me.

Many of us think that we are asking for what we want in life but the reality is that we aren’t. When you ask for something in life, you don’t really ask. You tell! You don’t ask life to give you anything. You tell life and anyone else that will listen, what you’re going to make happen. You speak it into existence, you demand it! But that’s the easy part. Because life will always make room for the things you want...as long as you’re willing to do what it takes to make it happen. The greater the ask, the more work it requires. The greater the impact, the more you open yourself to be seen by others. And that’s why many of us don’t truly ask. Because we are afraid of the unknown. We don’t want others to know that we didn’t hit our target or that we didn’t do what we said we would. So, we don’t really ask. Just like me, when I’d only tell Josh.

But anyone who is reading this knows that eventually I stopped hesitating. After enough push from a good friend, I realized that my desire to impact people positively was greater than my fear of asking. I am willing to do the work, and I’m telling life (and all of you and anyone else that will listen) that before it’s all said and done, I will positively impact one million people. That is my ask from life and I’m not afraid to say it.

So where are you in life? Do you have the things you want? Even those who appreciate what they have may still want more. Are you asking, I mean truly asking, for the things you want? Life will happily give you all that you want but if you up your ask, you’d better be ready to up your effort. Do me a favor and really ask for that thing that you really want from life. A better career, a better financial situation, a better relationship. Whatever it is, make it known to everyone that you are going to get it. Then, once you’ve put yourself out there. Once you’ve been exposed, put your head down and be ready to work.

To positively impact one million people. You read that right. I’m demanding that from life. But that’s the easy part. Now pull up a chair, grab some popcorn, and enjoy the show. It’s time to watch me work.


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page